Special Needs Support Worker| Horsham, Surrey | RH12

Recruiter
Anonymous
Location
Horsham
Salary
30042.00 - 30042.00 GBP Annual + GBP30042/annum
Posted
10 Feb 2017
Closes
26 Feb 2017
Function
Consultant
Contract Type
Permanent
Hours
Full Time
Full Time Special Needs Support Worker required to work with Jamie aged 7 who has Cerebral Palsy.

Overview:
Job Title: Special Needs Support Worker
Location: Horsham, RH12
Nearest Tube or Train Station: Horsham Station
Wage / Salary: GBP30,420 gross per annum Week: GBP13.00 gross per hour
Driver required? Yes, essential (Mileage will be paid when car used on shift)
Use of a car? No
Essential Experience: Cerebral Palsy
Desirable Experience: Background in Occupational therapy, physio or psychology would be useful.
Start Date: ASAP
Days and Hours: Monday to Friday Term Time: 6.00am to 9.30 & 2.30pm to 7.15pm with a full day on a Tuesday 7.00am to 7.00pm School Holidays: 8.00am to 5.00pm

Read More...

Jamie is a very friendly, motivated and sociable young boy who thoroughly enjoys playing games, swimming and accessing extra-curricular activities in the community. He has a good sense of humour and enjoys the company of his friends and family. He lives at home with his mum, dad and little brother Simon aged 5. Jamie has dystonic Cerebral palsy; he is non-verbal but is able to communicate his needs through his communication book, smiling and making his own sounds. He has a lovely personality but can be stubborn at times, especially when it comes to feeding, he has been known to refuse if it's not mum feeding him.

Jamie currently follows an intensive therapy programme, he receives regular input from a Conductor on a Tuesday who has worked with Jamie since he was a baby. He also has the opportunity to access specialist input from a therapist in Hungary who practises the Deveny Method. This is a Hungarian approach which uses a special technique and analytical gymnastics. The support worker will have the opportunity to observe all these therapies and even accompany the family to Hungary during the school holidays. You will also be provided with an induction and training about Jamie's specific personal care needs/routines.

Part of the support workers emphasis will focus around Jamie's speech and language, a personal development program and setting up targets to maximise his learning potential.

The family are currently living in Horsham but will be moving to Ockley in the very near future. Travel wise both houses are roughly 15 minutes away from each other. Jamie has a very special rapport with animals and his parents feel a puppy would really benefit him. They are on the search and hope to have a new addition to the family soon.

This job will suit someone who has a real get up and go attitude and is confident to use their own initiative. The family are bubbly and vibrant so someone who is positive an upbeat would suit them really well. This is a really lovely family and environment to work in, please speak to Rachael at Snap who has met with this friendly family